The Olota Elect, Oba (Dr) AbdulKabir Adeyemi Obalanlege, today paid a courtesy visit to the Alake and Paramount Ruler of Egbaland, His Majesty, Oba Adedotun Gbadebo at the Ake Palace.

The Olota Elect thanked the Alake for giving his consent to his appointment within 24 hrs, adding that the gesture of the Alake would further cement the good relationship between the Egba and Awori.

Oba Obalalenge pledged his cooperation with the Alake and all members of the Egba Traditional Council for the peace and progress of the area and Ogun State in general.

Earlier in his introduction, the Onilogbo of Ilogbo Oba(Dr) Samuel Ojugbele, told the Alake that the Oba Elect had come to pay the courtesy visit to express the Awori’s appreciation for the understanding, co-operation and good relationships between the Egba and the Awori.

He assured the Alake that there would be more cooperation this time than in the past.

In his reply, Oba Adedotun Gbadebo, disclosed that he would not have delayed his consent because he had nothing against the new Olota. Rather he was aware of his very good pedigree.

The Alake advised the Olota Elect not to be litigious as going to court would only make rancour and disagreement among his people, persistent, referring to a committee set up by the Olota then, Oba T.T Dada years ago in which the committee strongly recommended that Oba Matanmi should stop taking his people to court at any slightest dispute between him and his Awori compatriots.

Oba Gbadebo congratulated him adding that the new Oba should be his brother’s keeper.

Other Awori Obas and High Chiefs that accompanied the Olota Elect included Oba Clement Adesegun Akinyemi, the Ajana of Ijana, Ota; Oba Sikiru Banire, the Onikosi of Osi, Ota; Oba Abdulwaheed Dehinde, the Akogun of Oruba, Ota.

Egba Chiefs in attendance included the Olu Oke Odo Ilupeju, Oba Muftau Akindele; the Onijaiye of Ijaiyetitun, Oba Nofiu Otunba; Olu Obada, Oba Femi Sholaja; Onitesi of Orile; Aare of Egbaland, Chief Ganiyu Babayeju; Olori Parakoyi, Chief Kashimawo Laloko; the Baagbimo, Chief Akinwale; the Baatun, Chief Kehinde Shofenwa; the Bobatolu, Chief Matthew Koleoso and the Aare Baaroyin, Olootu Layi Labode.

Jennifer Idika and Adetoun Ifeoluwa


Newsflagship readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin. We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it. Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here