ABEOKUTA – Thirty-nine candidates will contest Ogun state governorship seat comes 2019 general elections, NEWS FLAGSHIP has learnt.

NEWS FLAGSHIP reports that the Independent National Electoral Commission(INEC) in Ogun state displayed the list of the 39 governorship candidates at its headquarters in Magbon, Abeokuta on Friday.

The list showed that 39 out of 43 registered political parties that are functional in the state have governorship candidates.

Among the candidates are Prince Dapo Abiodun of the All Progressives Congress, APC,  Adeleke Shittu of People’s Democratic Party, Otunba Rotimi Paseda of Social Democratic Party, SDP and Prince Gboyega Nasir Isiaka of African Democratic Congress, ADC.

Also on the list are former Speaker, House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Dimeji Bankole of Action Democratic Party, ADP, Oluseyi Gabriel Olufade of the Alliance for Democracy, Sina Kawonise of the YES Party among others.

It was also gathered that, 43 political parties fielded candidates for the State House of Assembly election.

Speaking with NEWS FLAGSHIP on the display of the candidates’ list, Mr. James Oludele Popoola, INEC administrative secretary in Ogun state, said ”display of the candidates’ list is part of the electoral processes.

”The development will give opportunity to all electorate and the political parties to know who will fly the flag of their respective political parties in the gubernatorial election.

”The commission will meet all the governorship, national and state assemblies candidates soon to sensitise them on electioneering and other things that have to to do with the 2019 general elections.” Popoola said

Newsflagship readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin. We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it. Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here