Ogun State House of Assembly has granted an approval to the request of the State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun for the appointment of two Senior Special Advisers and Twenty Special Advisers, to oversee the affairs of the State, pending the appointment of Commissioners for various Ministries Departments and Agencies (MDAs).

 The approval was consequent upon a motion moved by the Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff , seconded by Hon. Bolanle  Ajayi and supported by the Whole House through a voice vote, shortly after the Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo read Governor Dapo Abiodun’s correspondence, dated July 2, 2019, at a plenary held at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan,Abeokuta.

READ ALSO: Eagles star talks tough ahead of Cameroon showdown

The letter partly read, ” Mr Speaker, in order to sustain and intensify the momentum for the new administration, pending the appointment of Honourable Commissioners for various Ministries, I write to seek the approval of the Honourable House for the appointment of Two Senior Special Advisers and Twenty 20 Special Advisers”.

 In a related development, the Assembly has constituted  twenty -three Standing Committees, following the passage of a motion moved by Hon.Soneye Kayode representing  Obafemi Owode State Constituency, seconded by his Ijebu East counterpart, Adams Isaac and supported by all members through a voice vote,  shortly after the Deputy Speaker, Oludare Kadiri read the report of the Selection Committee earlier constituted by the Speaker in the previous week.

The Committees according to the report are; Works and Infrastructure, having Fasuwa Abiodun, as its Chairman, Committee on Transportation to be led by Elemide Oludaisi, Finance and Appropriation would be chaired by Sobukanla Olakunle, Adegoke  Adeyanju would head Health Committee, just as Education, Science and Technology would be chaired by Adeyemi Ademuyiwa.

 Also, Sylvester Abiodun would be in charge of  Agriculture and Forestry, Akeem Balogun would head Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, while Ajibola Sikiratu would  chair Women Affairs and Social Development Committee, just as the Committee on Environment has Wahab Haruna as its Chairman, while Committee on Youth, Sports and Employment Generation would be headed by Isaac Adams, Kayode Soneye would be in charge of Lands and Housing. 

 In addition, Information, Culture and Tourism has Adejojo Yusuf as Chairman, Kemi Oduwole would head the Committee on Commerce, Investments and Industries, just as Bashir Abdul would chair Oil, Gas, Energy, Water Resources and Rural Development and Adeniran Ademola would head Special Duties Committee, while Lamidi Musefiu would oversee Public Accounts and Anti-Corruption, just as House Services has Bolanle Ajayi as Chairman.

Others are Committee on Establishments and Public Service Matters to be led by Modupe  Mujota, Justice, Ethics and Public Petitions has Solomon Osho as chairman, Yusuf Amosun would be in charge of Cooperatives and Community Development, Speaker Olakunle Oluomo would also serve as Chairman of the Selection and Fund Management Committees with  the Majority Leader Yusuf Sheriff being the head of Rules, Bills and Resolutions Committee.

Also, the Assembly equally passed a resolution calling on the State Government to address all issues of ecological challenges, occasioned by the recent downpour including flooding, washing away of bridges, overblown roof of homes and schools amongst others across the twenty six State Constituencies in the State.

Newsflagship readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin. We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it. Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here