ACOMORAN President, Apelogun Appeals To Sanwo-Olu on Okada Ban Policy

ACOMORAN President

The National President of Amalgamated and Commercial Motorcycle Riders, Repairs Association of Nigeria (ACOMORAN), Shamsideen Apelogun has appealed to the Lagos state governor, Babatunde Sanwo-Olu to reverse the decision to ban Okada operations in some parts of the state.

Apelogun maintained that the banning of Okada operations will not solve the insecurities problems facing the people of Lagos state.

He said this at the inauguration of the newly elected executive of the association in Ogun State.

The ACOMORAN President lamented that the Okada ban has made many people become jobless and hopeless.

He maintained that the policy of the Lagos state government is meant at targeting the less privilege in the society.

According to him, the major argument against commercial motorcycle is the issue if accident but from the statistics available to us from the office of the Bureau of Statistics, accidents caused by motorcycle is not on the first three.

He added, “I really do think that banning commercial motorcycle without providing alternative, as was done in Lagos will never be the panacea for the problems facing the Lagos State government and Lagosians in general.

New ACOMORAN Chairman
Apelogun congratulating the new chairman, Kayode Showunmi

“That policy is a demonstration of government’s insensitivity to the plight of the people. Many have not only gone back to the labour market, many of the organised firms that invested into our sector has huge debts hanging on their neck now.

“Today, if care is not taken, many of those that has been thrown back into labour market might find solace in crime.”

Apelogun however commended the state governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun for allowing members to freely chose their leader without undue interference.

He however refuted the claim of having influence over the election saying, his interest was driven by competence and commitment in the development of the association.

He however, expressed confidence in the new leadership of the association, noting that, the new chairman has capacity to add value to lives of the members.

He urged the new exco to abide by the policy of the state government and support Prince Dapo Abiodun administration at ensuring increase in the revenue generation of the state.

He said, “A lot of factors were responsible for this long wait. First, there were various contending interests both within and outside the association.

“I want to make it abundantly clear that all those that contested are indeed our members and I have no personal issue with any of them as we have related as brothers over the years. My interest was however driven by competence, commitment and the fact that the people should be allowed to freely chose their leader; a leader that has the ability to put the collective interest of the association above any personal or pecuniary interest.”

Meanwhile, Mr. Kayode Showunmi has been elected Chairman, Amalgamated and Commercial Motorcycles Riders, Repairs Association of Nigeria (ACOMORAN) in Ogun State.

Showunmi emerged unopposed following the decision of his close contestant, Kolawole Ishola to step down from the chairmanship race.

The peaceful election held at the ACOMORAN secretariat in Abeokuta also saw all other 29 executive members emerged through a consensus decision.

In his acceptance speech, the new chairman, Kayode Showunmi urged members of the association to remain formidable, urging them not to allow the emotion of election to divide them as association.

He assured members of his administration’s resolve to ensure overall welfare of members through constant workshop and seminars for members.

Showunmi noted that, the new executive would thrive to accomplish its five cardinal programmes which include; Discipline, Empowerment, Insurance policy, security of members and welfare.

He commended other contestants for the show of sportsmanship before, during and after the election, urging all aggrieved members to join hands with the executive in the best interest of the association.

Other elected members are; Aare Fatai Temidayo, as Secretary, Alowolodu Adeleke Alao as Treasurer, Moshood Akanni Suliman as Deputy Chairman 1, Yusuf Murtala Okubisi as Deputy chairman 2.

Others include; Lawal Olusegun Samson as Assistant Secretary, Obafemi Daud Akanbi as Financial Secretary, Akinlola Awosanya as PRO, Agboola Oladipupo as Welfare officer 2 and Adewale Odunlami as Organizing Secretary.

Newsflagship readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin. We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it. Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here