Agura Installs First Baatolu of Gbaguraland


The Agura of Gbagura, Oba Saburee Babajide Bakre, Jamolu II, has installed the first Baatolu of Gbaguraland.

He is Hon Ibrahim Ayokunle Isiaka, Member, House of Representative, Ifo/Ewekoro Constituency.

This formed part of activities marking the second anniversary of the Agura Monarch on the throne, and was held on Saturday, 21st of August, 2021 at the Gbagura palace, Abeokuta.

The new Baatolu of Gbaguraland , who is also the Aare Asoludero-Elect of Egbaland, in a chat with Newsflagship expressed gratitude to God and to His Majesty, Oba Babajide Bakre for considering him among the lots of reputable sons and daughters of Gbaguraland to be honoured as the first Baatolu.

According to him, the honour on him calls for greater responsibilities which he so much cherished.

“I know that I need to uphold the tenets, the trust, the confidence, and the aspirations, coupled with what they found in me.”

It didn’t come as a gift, there is a kind of trajectory which they had been trailing and it came to a climax out of the background checks and indicators which they always look for in Gbaguraland among all the sons and daughters, and they found it in me.” He said.

Chief Ayokunle Isiaka added that he did not know that anyone was watching him, saying he was just being natural with his life.

The Honourable also appreciated the Agura Monarch and the Council of Chiefs as well as all Gbagura indigenes for the love and honour shown to him.

When asked how he intended to use his office to drive greater developments to Gbagura and Egbaland, the new Baatolu stated that it was a call to duty.

According to him, “Thank you for work is More Work.”

He mentioned that if one was being nominated among so many people and recognised for his works, that meant there was more work for such a person to do.

He further said that it is imperative for such person to expand his scope and make sure that whatever was seen in him, he should not allow the standard to drop.

“Egbaland, Gbagura, is known for being first and the best. So, the choice is a privilege and a huge call to duty.” He added.

READ ALSO: Adesina Adewale Saranda Becomes Apagunpote of Gbaguraland

Other Gbagura sons and daughters that were honoured with Chieftaincy Titles on Saturday included Chief Frank Momoh – Aare Babalaje of Gbaguraland, Chief Olufemi Olufowobi – Bobaseye of Gbaguraland, Chief and Chief (Mrs) Yemi Lawal – Oganla and Yeye Oganla of Gbaguraland, Chief Adewale Adesina and Chief (Mrs) Temitope Asabi – Apagunpote and Yeye Apagunpote of Gbaguraland, Chief Abiodun Amereya and Chief (Mrs) Olubukola Amereya – Ajiroba and Yeye Ajiroba of Gbaguraland, Chief Olurotimi Olasode-Martins – Akogun of Gbaguraland, Chief Rasak Sanni – Akinlagun of Gbaguraland, and Chief Afolab Akanni Sodunke – Sobaloju of Gbaguraland.

Traditional Rulers present at the occasion included the Alake and Paramount Ruler of Egbaland, Oba Adedotun Gbadebo, represented by Chief Sikirullah Atobatele, Balogun of Egbaland; Oba Fatai Akamo, the Olu of Itori; Olu Owode, Oba Sowemimo; and others.

Balogun of Egbaland- Chief Sikirullah Atobatele, representing the Alake of Egbaland, Oba Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo, Osi Egba – Chief Bode Mustapha, Chief Tosin Fadare – Seriki Egba

Gbagura Chief present at the occasion included Chief Adio Bayewun – The Balogun of Ojoo Gbagura, Chief Ayo Koleade – The Balogun of Iddo Township Gbagura, Chief Nurudeen Balogun – Balogun Ira and Chairman Tradomedical Association of Ogun State, Chief Abeeb Adewale Ajayi – Chairman Ogun State Park and Garages, Chief Aroyewun Adesina Sabur – Osi of Oje, Prince Oladele Akindele, Chief Bukola Olopade – The Jagunmolu of Gbaguraland, Chief Morufudeen O. Akindele – The Ekerin Balogun Ibadan Gbagura and other eminent personalities.

Chief Olusegun Aremu Obasanjo – Balogun Owu and Oluwo Oje Ile Gbagura; Chief Ayokunle Isiaka, the first Baatolu of Gbaguraland and wife, Chief (Mrs) Isiaka, Erelu Baatolu Gbagura.

Other dignitaries present at the ceremony included former President who is the Balogun of Owu and Oluwo of Oje Ile Gbagura – Chief Olusegun Obasanjo; Chief Bode Mustapha- Osi of Egbaland and Balogun of Ibadan Gbagura; Seriki Egba, Tosin Fadare; Chief (Mrs) Tejumade Bakre, GbegbaAje Egba, Asiwaju Baamofin Egba Sunday Oduntan, to mention a few.

Newsflagship readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin. We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it. Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here