Prince Dapo Abiodun

ABEOKUTA – The Muhammad Ndabawa-led electoral panel of the National Working Committee(NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on Wednesday declared Prince Dapo Abiodun winner of the governorship direct primary of Ogun APC for the 2019 gubernatorial election.

Indabawa disclosed that Abiodun polled 102,305 votes of the 234,046 total votes cast ahead of the five other candidates.

Indabawa  who was flanked by other members of the panel added that banker turned politician, Mr. Jimi Lawal polled 51,153 votes while a former Ogun State Commissioner for Commerce and Industry, Otunba Bimbo Ashiru scored 29,764 votes .

Former Deputy Governor of the state, Senator Adegbenga Kaka scored 17,771 votes; Governor Ibikunle Amosun successor-designate, Hon.  Adekunle Akinlade scored 23,443 votes and Hon. Abayomi Hunye scored 9,610 votes.

Indabawa said the eight-man panel had the mandate of the NWC to conduct the exercise that produced Abiodun. He however denied knowledge of another parallel primary election that produced Adekunle Akinlade as governorship aspirant.

He said “Prince Dapo Abiodun having scored 102,305 votes is hereby elected as the flagbearer of APC subject to the ratification by the National Working Committee.”

“As far as APC is concerned, this committee is the constituted one for the conduct of the election by the party. If there’s any election for the emergence any other candidate, we are not aware of it in Ogun State, rather than the one so announced by this committee,” Indabawa said.

Newsflagship readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin. We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it. Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here