Chris Isiguzo Becomes New NUJ National President

L-R: Comrade Chris Isiguzo being congratulated by the Returning Officer, Mr. Benson Upah

ABEOKUTA – The South East Bureau Chief of This Day Newspaper, Comrade Chris Isiguzo on Friday emerged the new National President of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ).

Isiguzo who came from Enugu NUJ state council scored 346 votes to defeat the incumbent President, Waheed Odusile who polled 329 votes.

Announcing the results at the June 12 Cultural Centre in Abeokuta, Ogun State, venue of the 6th triennial delegates conference, the Returning Officer from Nigeria Labour Congress, Benson Upah, commended the peaceful conduct of all the participants.

The new NUJ president, administering oath of office to other elected officers

Upah, who is the National Head of Information and Public Affairs of NLC, declared Isiguzo winner of the election that had seven contestants.

Other presidential candidates are; Bamidele Atunbi from Ondo council scored 101 votes, Abiodun Olalere from Osun state council had 56 votes, Jacob Edi, 16 votes while Alademikan Adelegan had 9 votes and Uzaka Abraham got 30 votes.

For the National Treasurer position, Mohammed Ishe defeated two other contestants, while Muhamod Umar was elected National Auditor.

For the Vice President position, Yusuf Idris was elected vice president Zone A, Cosmos Olalekan was elected VP Zone B Petrus Samfochi won the election for Zone C and Wilson Bako was elected VP Zone D.

Edwards Akpati was elected VP Zone F, Izma Abdullahi was elected Secretary Zone A, while Suleiman Gimba won the Secretary seat for Zone E.

In his acceptance speech , Isiguzo said that the major focus of his administration would be welfare of Nigerian journalists.

“I assure that time to rescue the union has started, you will be proud of us . We won’t disappoint you .

Chris Isiguzo addressing journalists shortly after his declaration

” We will unveil our programme of actions in the coming days. The days you work and you will not receive your salary is gone.

“The immediate past president has congratulated me with other co-contestants. I want to dedicate this victory to all Nigerian journalists,” he said.

Newsflagship readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin. We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it. Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here