The Alake of Egbaland, Oba Adedotun Gbadebo, has called on Federal and States Ministries of Culture and Tourism to commercialise Nigeria’s rich culture and tourism sites.

Oba Adedotun Gbadebo gave the advice while receiving the new Ogun State Commissioner for Culture and Tourism, Dr. Toyin Taiwo, officers as well as officials of the Ministry, at Ake Palace on Tuesday (21-01-2020).

The Alake noted that Nigeria was endowed with enough cultural materials and heritage sites that were waiting to be tapped as bigger local and foreign currency earners.

Oba Gbadebo pointed out that, there were some countries of the world with high visitors, such as France, Spain, the United States, Italy and even Carabean Islands , that mainly ran their countries with culture and tourism incomes.

The Egba Paramount Ruler therefore advised the new Commissioner to initiate programmes that would promote our culture while at the same time, earn incomes for Ogun State Government.

Oba Adedotun Gbadebo also appreciated Dr. Toyin Taiwo for his visit, adding that his cognate experienced officers and the Ministry’s competent administrative officials, would go a longer in reinvigorating waning aspects of our culture, in areas of language, respect for elders, foods, extended family system and “omoluwabi” system of the Yoruba race.

Earlier in his address, the Commissioner, Dr Toyin Taiwo, told the Alake that, he could not start to operate his Ministry without paying a cultural visit to the Alake for royal blessing, guidance and self introduction.

Dr. Toyin Taiwo disclosed to the Alake, that his leadership would take the Ministry to the next level, in some areas of culture and tourism.

Among his entourage were Senior Special Adviser to Governor on Culture and tourism Miss. Sonariwo on Culture and Tourism
Permanent Secretary Pastor (Mrs) F Ogunremi, Director of Research Femi Osanyinpeju, and Director of Culture and Tourism, Mrs. Ronke Peters.

Egba Traditional Rulers Present were,
Oba Najeemdeen Aromaye, the Oniro of Iro, Oba Michael Ajibola Babalola, Onijale Papa;
Oba Kolawole Aremu Sowemimo, the Olu Owode Egba; Oba Mufatau Akindele Olu Ilupeju Oke Odo; Oba Matthew Ayibulu, Olu Onigbedu;

Oba Nofiu Adeyemi Otun, Onijaye of Ijaye Titun; Oba Adeogun Ogunbona, Olu Orile Igbore; Oba Ademola Edun Ogunbona, Olu Makoloki; Oba Oluwafemi Soloja, Olu Obada Oko; Oba Olufemi Ogunleye, Olu Akinhale; Oba Lawrence O.A Odeyinka, Olu of Siun; and Oba Musilim A.K. Onipede,
Olu Itori Oke.

Egba Chiefs at the occasion were,
Balogun Sikiru Atobatele, Seriki Tosin Fadare, Aare Ganiyu Babayeju, AgbaAgbakin Rasheed Raji, Baaloro Adeniyi Adegnenro, Aare Baaroyin Layi Labode, Sakotun Adebayo Jimoh, Bobatolu Mathew Koleoso, Baamowe Professor Ajao Adenekan, Bada Asoju Oba Oluwole Odekunle, Bolashakin Lateef Adenekan and Bobagbero Lanre Adebo

Newsflagship readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin. We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it. Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here