The Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun, has dissolved all transport unions in the State and set up an interim 13-man Committee, to coordinate the activities of the unions.

A statement signed by the Chief Press Secretary (CPS) to the Governor, Mr. Kunle Somorin, stated that an ad-hoc Committee had also been constituted to organize the 2019 Hajj operations for Muslim faithful, performing this year’s pilgrimage to Mecca and Medina.

According to Somorin, the interim road transport unions’ committee would be headed by Barrister Sunday Olufemi Adeniyi, while the Hajj Operation Committee would be chaired by Imam Mufutau Majekodunmi.

Other members of the Hajj committee included, Alhaji Abdul Gafar Orunsolu, Imam Rufai Sile, Alhaji Misbau Salako, Alhaji Tijani Hassan Ishola, Alhaji Tunde Oladunjoye, Dr. (Mrs.) Raheemat Oloyede, Hon. Kamaru Oduntan, Alhaja Bisola Aliu, while Alhaji Abdul Yekin Arimyau Parakoyi would serve as the Amirul-Hajj for this year’s pilgrimage.

The CPS explained that the mandate of the Road Transport Associations’ Interim Committee was basically to review the operations of the unions and make recommendations on how the unions could be better coordinated to support the State’s developmental agenda.

He stated further that the Committee was also expected to educate and create awareness amongst stakeholders in the sector, on the need to ensure peaceful conduct at all times and avoid any activities that could undermine the peace, security and safety of lives and property.

Other terms of reference for the transport committee were to institute disciplinary actions against any conduct or behaviour that could undermine public peace and harness the revenue potential of the road transport, for enhanced Internally Generated Revenue (IGR), as well as identify and address other issues that could improve the overall performance of the transport sector in the State.

The transport committee has Hon. Kunle Adeyemi, Hon. Afolabi Afuape, Mr. Aremu Babatunde, Hon. Olaitan Asekun, Mr. Jokotade Kashimawo, Hon. Kunle Mudashiru, Hon. Sule Abbas, Hon Razaq Adetokunbo, Mr. Lekan Oguntayo. Hon Yaya Fadipe, and Hon. Kayode Fabiyi, as members, with Engr. Tunji Akinosi, as Secretary.

Newsflagship readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin. We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it. Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here