Rohr invites Mikel, Moses, 26 others for Friendlies


The Super Eagles’ Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr, has called up team captain John Mikel Obi, midfielder Ogenyi Onazi and Victor Moses in a 28-man squad for the Poland and Serbia friendly matches.

Leading the goalkeeping section is the home-based goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, who had been the most preferred choice for the last four 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying games. He will be joined by Spain-based, RC- Deportivo goalie, Francis Uzoho and South Africa-based Daniel Akpeyi.
Former junior international Kenneth Omeruo is also back among the defenders, as well as Joel Obi among the midfielders.

Eagles’ Team B regulars such as defender Stephen Eze and forward Gabriel Okechukwu were also handed opportunities.

Russia-based Brian Idowu, who scored against Argentina on his debut in a friendly in Krasnodar in November, has also got another call-up.

Nigeria will play with the White and Reds of Poland at the 43,000-capacity Stadium Wroclaw on March 23. Four days later, the Eagles will take to the pitch against Serbia at The Hive in London, the home ground of Barnet FC and London Bees.

The matches are the first two in a list of six friendly games planned for the Super Eagles by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) ahead of the World Cup in Russia.

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC) and Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa).

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag, The Netherlands); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England); Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium) and Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia). Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey) and Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria).

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium) and Joel Obi (Torino FC, Italy).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Odion Ighalo(Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt) and Gabriel Okechukwu (Akwa United).

Newsflagship readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin. We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it. Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here