Senate Confirms George Abang Ekungu As EFCC Secretary, 4 Other Board Members


The Senate on Tuesday confirmed George Abang Ekungu (Cross River) as Secretary of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

It also confirmed Luqman Muhammed (Edo); Anumba Adaeze (Enugu); Alhaji Kola Raheem Adesina (Kwara) and Alhaji Yahaya Muhammad (Yobe) as board members of the EFCC.

Presenting the report of the committee on Anti-Corruption and Financial Crimes for the five persons, Sen Kwari, Suleiman Abdu (Kaduna North) urged the Senate to confirm the nominees.

He said there was nothing incriminating about the nominees as they all qualify for the job.

READ ALSO: The Olu of Siun is 70 On Wednesday, Celebrates Birthday Anniversary At St Peter And Paul Catholic Cathedral, Abeokuta

Though Senator Sen. Hassan Hadejiya complained that the Dossier of one of the nominees, Yahaya Muhammad (Yobe), showed that he started school before he was born, the Upper Chamber of the National Assembly led by Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege looked the other way and confirmed him.

Newsflagship readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin. We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it. Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here